Book Bloggers & Indie Authors: The Sonny & Cher of the Book World

Book Bloggers & Indie Authors: The Sonny & Cher of the Book World by: Gerria Johnson

If I could do a duet with some of my favorite book bloggers, it would go a little something like this (complete with stage direction):

ME: They say my book’s good, but I don’t know, I won’t find out until my readers grow
BLOGGER: Well I don’t know if all that’s true, but you’ve got me, and writers, I got you
*looks lovingly at blogger and opens arms for hug*
ME: Babe
*embrace*
TOGETHER: I got you babe, I got you babe
*release embrace*

ME: They say my book won’t pay the rent
 Before it’s earned, my royalties are spent
BLOGGER: I guess that’s so, you don’t have a lot
But you’ve got my review and 5 stars is pretty hot

*looks lovingly at blogger and opens arms for hug*
ME: Babe
*embrace*
TOGETHER: I got you babe, I got you babe

And so on and so forth… you get the picture. Normally, I would write a wordy, lengthy article to show off some wordsmith-ing skills, but some things are better expressed in song, yes? Needless to say, book bloggers and reviewers are one of the greatest parts of an author’s world. They take hours a day out of their lives to spread the word about our books and, on a grander scale, they promote reading and literacy to the masses. AND guess what? They’re writers, too! Blog content certainly doesn’t write itself so kudos, hats off, love, peace, and blessings to book bloggers worldwide. You help make the book world go ‘round.

Now, I’m not knocking expensive ads in expensive places (I’m saving RIGHT NOW to place one), but there’s something beautiful about the grassroots approach that cannot be denied or replaced. There’s power in the word-of-mouth praise that comes from the reviewer who actually reads your book AND really loves it AND spreads the word about it on their blog just because they love it. (or hate it… there’s power in that, too!) More importantly, the warm, personal environment that book bloggers provide for their readers and the authors that they support is essential in building a true literary community. We know each other by name; we’ve even seen pictures of each other’s kids… that type of thing is priceless.

Tagged: , ,

Come and Talk With Me

