How Do You Do That? Here are you answers! #1

Here are those answers for the questions asked this week.

How do you get followers and people to actually leave a comment on your blog? –Gina and Valerie

The answer to this is many things some people if you follow their blog, they will follow yours.  If you can connect yourself with some indie authors they will generally follow you as well.  If you run a contest or giveaway and include as part of it that they have to follow your blog and comment that will get them to respond as well.  Connect your blog through Networked Blogs, you can get your Facebook friends to follow and that is another way to get followers.  Also many people have what is called a meme, there is IMM (In My Mailbox), It’s Monday what are you reading, Teaser Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, Booking Through Thursday to name a few those generally are a way to get comments, and the old theory of give to receive if you follow them you have a higher chance of getting them to follow you.  Also Twitter is a great way, look up favorite authors, bloggers, publishing companies and you are luckily to get followers that way or comments.

I have a question, when you come across a book you truly hate, is it hard to give it even a passable review, and how do you handle the ratings on it? –VK

When I have a book I didn’t like whether it be difficult to read because of errors, and typos, or the nature of the book I couldn’t get behind.  I find myself looking at the book if someone else might like it.  I try to point out the positive if I can depending where the location of the book or history of it.  If it is accurate I will comment on that saying it was well researched.  I will also state while I did not like someone else may.  There are many bloggers out there and many books and not everyone is gonna like every book so I try to keep that in mind.  And I would want from a blogger to hear something positive about my book even if it wasn’t up their alley.  There is being honest then there is insulting the author over a book I may not like.  I try to keep it professional.

That is all for now keep those questions coming and I will be back next Sunday to answer some more.

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “How Do You Do That? Here are you answers! #1

  1. vk08 January 22, 2012 at 12:10 pm Reply

    thank you for the concise and informative answer

  2. Gina January 22, 2012 at 12:40 pm Reply

    Thank you for taking the time to answer any questions those of us new to blogging may have.

Come and Talk With Me

